Back to the Happy

Hear the recorded version of this poem on Soundcloud at this link: Back to the Happy

Verse 1:
Come away, come away with me love
let’s go back to the day when we first met:
magic in the air
a night we won’t forget.

Looking back, looking back is easy
everything wears a shiny rosy hue
life had just begun
there was only me and you.

Bridge:

But time can fly
the years go by
and life gets a little crazy;
We let the doubt
push us about
now look where it’s left us, baby

Chorus:

I wanna go back to the Happy
to the days when the sun shone through the rain
I wanna go back to the Carefree
to the nights when the stars spelled out our name
Can we try, can we try, can we pretend
find our way to that old fairy tale end
and let me go back to the Happy

Verse 2:

Come away, come away with me love
let’s go back to that place we called ‘our home’
built on solid ground
roots in earth and stone.

Looking back, looking back it’s so clear
that there’s more to this house than these four walls
somewhere there’s still faith
haunting these old halls.

(Repeat Bridge and Chorus)

But time can fly
the years go by
and life gets a little crazy;
We let the doubt
push us about
now look where it’s left us, baby.

I wanna go back to the Happy
to the days when the sun shone through the rain
I wanna go back to the Carefree
to the nights when the stars spelled out our name
Can we try, can we try, can we pretend
find our way to that old fairy tale end
and let me go back to the Happy

Can we try, can we try, can we pretend
find our way to the old fairy tale end
and let me go back to the Happy

I wanna go back to the Happy

Let me go back to my Happy

 

2 thoughts on “Back to the Happy

    1. We always find ourselves looking backwards when the present becomes a difficult road… as they say, things look better in hindsight… but it’s being able to see where we went wrong and learn from those times that we are able to change the now… and hopefully find that better road once more. Wishing you sunshine, dear sir! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

