Queen Procrastinatia

Ok. I get that a blog should be a kind of a daily sort of thing, right? So I’m a bit slow out of the gate on that I guess. I have a bad.. no, a terrible habit of procrastinating. I should have added it to my ‘New Years’ list: I will stop procrastinating. Well.. no, that would definitely have been an unachievable goal right off the get-go. I will make a better effort to blog more frequently and hopefully it will become a good habit that will turn into a daily one.

In my defense, it’s been a sucky week, I think I can say that.. “sucky”..? Yes, I can say that. It has been. It’s supposed to be Summer, we’re a Zone 6a here for Pete’s sake! A daily high of 15Celcius is just NOT acceptable, especially when combined with cloudy and rainy/misty skies. It was not nice standing out on the deck as I shook my fist at the heavens and complained! I mean, WTH is going on God?!! Did the continental shift sneak up on us while we were watching Ellen? This is getting ridiculous! Bring on the summer already! My lettuce and tomatoes don’t have a clue what to do – they’re half growing, half stunted because they’re afraid to come up out of the semi-insulated earth! Even the cats are still hanging on to their winter fur! And don’t get me started on dear hubs – he’s turning schizophrenic: happy that it’s cool and overcast because he works outdoors mowing lawns, but cranky because it’s cool and overcast and the grass isn’t growing as fast so he isn’t mowing much.   … I think my ulcer is coming back.  Ugh. 😛

All of this combined with the way the crappy weather makes my bones ache has left me in a creative funk so I’ve been slow with the writing, which doesn’t help my goal list. But I managed to get some of my crafted jewelry into a local shop this week (yay!) so that’s a start and I feel good about forcing my feet out of the house, which was uncomfortable and thank goodness the meds helped! Baby steps!

Looking ahead to better days, the sun is coming and I know I’ll feel better. Slumps pass, moods change, like the weather, and I have to remind myself that it’s ok to have low days and even low weeks. I can look back over the past five days and see that I still wrote some, even if it wasn’t as much as I wanted to write, I still did some work around the house, even if it wasn’t as much as I had planned to do, I still spent time visiting family and got out of the house and saw people. Even though I felt like it was a bad week, it was still a good week. As I sit here writing this now even, I can stop…. take a minute… take a deep breath and feel better then I did when I started writing ten minutes ago. See how magical writing is? That’s why I write! It’s magic! (oh, alright, I can hear my hubs – even though he’s already asleep in bed – saying, ‘it’s not magic it’s your talent‘, yeah, whatever) Writing is my therapy and my healing and my Magic. I’m so very thankful to be able to share it with you and I hope it brings a smile and maybe opens a window or a door somewhere for some sunlight to shine into a corner that was waiting to clear out the shadows. The sun will come soon… it’s on the way.

“A world in which there are monsters, and ghosts, and things that want to steal your heart is a world in which there are angels, and dreams, and a world in which there is hope.” – Neil Gaiman.

PS. There are a few new poems in the Pages to check out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

